PHP Developers Network

A community of PHP developers offering assistance, advice, discussion, and friendship.
 
Loading
It is currently Fri Dec 19, 2014 7:51 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2012 11:29 pm 
Offline
Forum Newbie

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2012 11:27 pm
Posts: 2
My server was running fine and website is fine, until i did a new installation of PHP5.3.10 and then when i try to access my website, it prompts me to download a file.

before that, everything is fine. I realized that the directory (estores) that i try to access are index.php, all php extensions, and i'll be prompted to download a file.

I've no experience in website or server management.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 10, 2012 1:17 am 
Offline
Forum Newbie

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2012 11:27 pm
Posts: 2
I probably have the same problem as this post by superjboss
http://forums.devnetwork.net/viewtopic.php?f=31&t=119223&hilit=prompt+download


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2012 9:51 am 
Offline
Briney Mod
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2004 7:11 pm
Posts: 6434
Location: 53.01N x 112.48W
My guess is PHP hasn't been integrated with Apache, so when a request for php comes in, Apache treats it like an unknown file format.

_________________
Real programmers don't comment their code. If it was hard to write, it should be hard to understand.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2013 5:42 am 
Offline
Forum Newbie

Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2013 5:26 am
Posts: 1
ahmoo wrote:
I probably have the same problem as this post by superjboss
http://forums.devnetwork.net/viewtopic.php?f=31&t=119223&hilit=prompt+download


actually i have same problem ...if you find out the solution then let me know also ...thanks in advance .


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2013 5:58 pm 
Offline
Forum Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2010 4:45 pm
Posts: 372
Location: UK
Hi,

This sometimes happens if a PHP script exits unexpectedly - I had this happen while I was trying to generate a spreadsheet using PHPExcel. You might want to check your php.ini settings to make sure all error reporting is switched on or maybe try uploading a very basic test script such as

Syntax: [ Download ] [ Hide ]
<?php
ini_set('display_errors',1);
error_reporting(-1);
phpinfo();
?>


to see what happens. Assuming you have shell access to the server you can run PHP at the command line to see what's going on and make sure it works from the interpreter, and you might also want to check your server logs for web requests and upgrade activity. It would also help if you could both tell us what 3rd party PHP software you're running to power your sites.

HTH,

Mecha Godzilla


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group