PHP Developers Network

A community of PHP developers offering assistance, advice, discussion, and friendship.
 
Loading
It is currently Fri Dec 19, 2014 10:41 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Jun 25, 2011 10:50 am 
Offline
Forum Commoner

Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2010 3:26 pm
Posts: 73
Hi everyone,

This is very basic I'm sure, but as a noob pretty frustrating. I am working with PHP 5.3 and firefox. When the output of my scripts goes to the browser it cuts off after the first few lines and you see ( for example )

Syntax: [ Download ] [ Hide ]
"... (length=145784)"


I would like the full output to be sent to the browser.

I would appreciate any help.

Regards,

KC


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jun 25, 2011 2:02 pm 
Offline
Jack of Zircons
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 9:30 pm
Posts: 4484
Location: California, USA
I'm not clear on what you are seeing. Are you saying that literally those few characters are all that is being received by the browser?? Is this what you see when you look at the Source page in Firefox? Absolutely nothing else? That doesn't look like an error message. When you say that you would like the "full output" to be sent to the browser, what is the full output, HTML and text? XML? binary data? Can you show us a (brief) example of your code?

[Edit: it just occurred to me, are you viewing your PHP script using Firefox on your local computer? What web server are you using to view it with? You are aware, are you not, that PHP is not understood by Firefox, it must be sent to Firefox from a web server such as Apache, which parses the PHP and delivers HTML to the browser.]


Last edited by califdon on Sat Jun 25, 2011 2:08 pm, edited 2 times in total.
To add my afterthought.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jun 25, 2011 4:38 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2003 7:13 pm
Posts: 5930
Location: Odessa, Ukraine
It looks like you're outputting the data using var_dump() (with xdebug installed). var_dump() is a debugging function and, generally, during debugging it's enough to see just a part of the string. Use echo() if you want to output entire string.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jun 25, 2011 8:06 pm 
Offline
Forum Commoner

Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2010 3:26 pm
Posts: 73
Hi Guys,

Thank you both for taking the time to reply. Califdon, I should have been clearer. I am trying to print out HTML, Sorry. Weirdan, you were entirely correct. Changing to echo from var_dump prints out the entire page in my browser.

This helps a lot.

Thanks again,

KC


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2012 7:13 am 
Offline
Forum Newbie

Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 7:02 am
Posts: 1
Thank you both for taking the time to reply. Califdon, I ought to have been clearer. I am trying to print out HTML, Sorry. Weirdan, you were completely accurate. Changing to resonance from var_dump prints out the whole page in my browser


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group