PHP Developers Network

A community of PHP developers offering assistance, advice, discussion, and friendship.

It is currently Wed Aug 12, 2020 2:16 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

PostPosted: Wed Mar 08, 2006 12:13 pm 
Forum Commoner

I have a few friends who I get to look over projects as I am working on them and they always seem to give me the same feedback, that the layout is good but that I am lacking graphics.

Fair enough. But I have a bit of a "thing" about accessibility which they understand nothing about! They also think Flash is good, for me that is a reason not to really listen to them but I am concerned that my sites are a bit boring.

Really you could say that I am a coder rather than a designer I try and code websites as well as humanly possible (strict doctitles etc.) but I am worried that that is not translating into work for me because strict doctitles mean nothing to newbies they take my abilities at their slightly bland face value.

My interest in accessibility has only really helped to secure a contract with one firm that does consultantancy on autism (so it's directly linked to disabilities).

That was really a long winded way of me asking how I know when things should be a graphic rather than text if there are ways of knowing that a graphic is more appropriate as well as any ideas for incorporating more graphics.

Its not got to the stage where I am replacing things with ASCII art :lol: but I do think I dont include enough graphics. How do I get into graphics, I borrowed Photoshop from someone and didn't have a clue what to do with it and online tutorials never seem to translate to anything relevant for the work I do.

What should I do?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 08, 2006 12:18 pm 
Neighborhood Spidermoddy

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 08, 2006 12:25 pm 
Breakbeat Nuttzer

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 08, 2006 12:33 pm 
Forum Commoner

Thanks Guys.

I love CSS.