PHP Developers Network

A community of PHP developers offering assistance, advice, discussion, and friendship.
 
Loading
It is currently Tue Sep 29, 2020 3:19 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Oct 05, 2004 4:27 pm 
Offline
Forum Commoner

Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2004 10:53 pm
Posts: 35
Location: Champaign - Urbana, IL
Anyone ever have a problem with uploading .GIFs from MS Paint? I'm working on a site allowing JPEG and GIF uploads and I found out the MS Paint's JPEG images are of MIME type image/pjpeg and not image/jpeg. So I thought to check their .GIF format as well. However, when I try to upload the .GIF file from MS Paint with IE, I get a page cannot be displayed error. Try uploading the same .GIF with FireFox and had no problems. Anyone else ever encounter this? I was able to reproduce the error with different .GIFs and multiple times so it seems systemic and not a fluke.

David Goldfeder
Web and Database Specialist
University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 05, 2004 4:32 pm 
Offline
Neighborhood Spidermoddy
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2004 4:24 pm
Posts: 31559
Location: Bothell, Washington, USA


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2004 2:41 am 
Offline
Her Royal Site Adminness
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2002 2:21 am
Posts: 5371
Location: Essex, UK
If you are allowing jpegs you do need to allow both image/pjpeg and image/jpeg as as feyd said this isn't a MS Paint thing but an MS thing. Did you check what filetype the GIFs where being shown as when you tried to upload them?

Mac


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2004 2:02 pm 
Offline
Forum Commoner

Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2004 10:53 pm
Posts: 35
Location: Champaign - Urbana, IL


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2004 2:20 pm 
Offline
Neighborhood Spidermoddy
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2004 4:24 pm
Posts: 31559
Location: Bothell, Washington, USA


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2004 2:38 pm 
Offline
Her Royal Site Adminness
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2002 2:21 am
Posts: 5371
Location: Essex, UK
If you disperse of the file upload stuff, put the file on your server and use something like [php_man]mime_content_type[/php_man]() on it what does it report?

Mac


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2004 6:26 pm 
Offline
Forum Commoner

Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2003 5:26 am
Posts: 84
Location: UK


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2004 6:31 pm 
Offline
Neighborhood Spidermoddy
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2004 4:24 pm
Posts: 31559
Location: Bothell, Washington, USA


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group