Photoshop CS5: Specifying Selection Dimensions?

Need help with Photoshop, the GIMP, Illustrator, or others? Want to show off your work? Looking for advice on your newest Flash stuff?

Moderator: General Moderators

Locked
s992
Forum Contributor
Posts: 124
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2010 3:06 pm

Photoshop CS5: Specifying Selection Dimensions?

Post by s992 »

I'm running through some design tutorials that are based in Photoshop and one thing that is common among all of them is instructions such as, "Create a rectangular selection 200px by 100px."

I can't, for the life of me, figure out how to specify the dimensions of my selection without setting a guide and then snapping my selection to the guide. Is there an easier way?
User avatar
SpiLoT
Forum Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 4:16 am
Location: Ireland / Dublin

Re: Photoshop CS5: Specifying Selection Dimensions?

Post by SpiLoT »

While you're on rectangle's layer, go to Edit -> Free Transform, or just right-click on the rectangle and click Free Transform.

Up the bar, you'll find W: [number %] . H: [number %]. Right click on W & H, and select Pixels. You'll have the ability to exactly set up the width and height's area pixels.

Image

Cheers.
magnew
Forum Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 5:39 pm

Re: Photoshop CS5: Specifying Selection Dimensions?

Post by magnew »

New to this forum, but note that there was some minimal recent discussion of the problem that has me currently stymied...I am a 20+ year pshop user, and I can't find the bar referenced in the previous post that allows one to type in specific dimensions. Did the previous questioner figure it out, or does the responder have any suggestions for finding that top bar? Many thanks.
SabirAhmed
Forum Newbie
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 11:56 am

Re: Photoshop CS5: Specifying Selection Dimensions?

Post by SabirAhmed »

magnew & jiel97 - which versions of photoshop are u using? Perhaps its an old version?

Basically I have used CS3 and above and they all have this bar. It is part of the Options Bar on my CS3

Window > Options ...

Then when you press Control T to Transform, the X And Y panel should appear as they do in the diagram above
User avatar
pickle
Briney Mod
Posts: 6445
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2004 6:11 pm
Location: 53.01N x 112.48W
Contact:

Re: Photoshop CS5: Specifying Selection Dimensions?

Post by pickle »

Another option is to have the "Info" palette open & watch the dimensions as you make the selection.
Real programmers don't comment their code. If it was hard to write, it should be hard to understand.
Locked