Site moved... Again

Where we keep all the boring tidbits about the PHPDN site, the news, and what not.

Moderator: General Moderators

Re: Site moved... Again

Postby Kieran Huggins » Wed Jan 16, 2008 2:16 pm

[quote="califdon"]Kieran, you're alright! (I don't care what everybody else says)[/quote]
8O

I think it's this thread - I can't use BBcodeOR smilies here, but elsewhere I can!

THIS THREAD IS HAUNTED! OOOOOOOO
User avatar
Kieran Huggins
DevNet Master
 
Posts: 3635
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 5:14 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Site moved... Again

Postby Zoxive » Wed Jan 16, 2008 2:20 pm

I believe its been disabled in the OP the whole time!
User avatar
Zoxive
Forum Regular
 
Posts: 974
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 5:37 pm
Location: Bay City, Michigan

Re: Site moved... Again

Postby Kieran Huggins » Wed Jan 16, 2008 2:27 pm

ZOMG.

ZOMG to the MAX!
User avatar
Kieran Huggins
DevNet Master
 
Posts: 3635
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 5:14 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Site moved... Again

Postby RobertGonzalez » Wed Jan 16, 2008 2:38 pm

Ok, this is funny.

The original post has bbCode and smilies on by default. But every reply has it off. Except mine. I am wondering if somehow each posters profile was setup to have bbCode off and made each post with bbCode off? Not sure, but I would suggest that any time you post in this thread, check to see if the disable bbCode checkbox is available to you.
User avatar
RobertGonzalez
Site Administrator
 
Posts: 14293
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2003 6:04 pm
Location: Fremont, CA, USA

Re: Site moved... Again

Postby Kieran Huggins » Wed Jan 16, 2008 2:49 pm

it's not - maybe because you're an admin?
User avatar
Kieran Huggins
DevNet Master
 
Posts: 3635
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 5:14 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Site moved... Again

Postby pickle » Wed Jan 16, 2008 4:22 pm

This is me being underlined.

Seems to work for me too - maybe just mods & admins?
Real programmers don't comment their code. If it was hard to write, it should be hard to understand.
User avatar
pickle
Briney Mod
 
Posts: 6432
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2004 7:11 pm
Location: 53.01N x 112.48W

Re: Site moved... Again

Postby JayBird » Wed Jan 16, 2008 6:32 pm

So, let me get this straight. BBCode is working for people in other threads, it's just this one that is the problem?
User avatar
JayBird
Admin
 
Posts: 4522
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2003 7:02 am
Location: York, UK

Re: Site moved... Again

Postby RobertGonzalez » Wed Jan 16, 2008 6:39 pm

Yeah. Take a look at nickvd's first post, or califdon, and you will see that the Disable bbCode box is checked. The original post it is not checked. Not sure how they were affected, but it seems somehow that they are not even given the option of enabling bbcode.

@califdon or @nickvd, can you reply to this thread and see if the Disable BBCode box is available to you? Use the reply to say whether it is or not. I want to see, if it is not, if I go back into your post and uncheck those boxes, if you can then go back and use bbCode. Thanks.
User avatar
RobertGonzalez
Site Administrator
 
Posts: 14293
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2003 6:04 pm
Location: Fremont, CA, USA

Re: Site moved... Again

Postby JayBird » Wed Jan 16, 2008 6:42 pm

I cant think of a logical reason why that would be happening on only this post...bizarre.
User avatar
JayBird
Admin
 
Posts: 4522
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2003 7:02 am
Location: York, UK

Re: Site moved... Again

Postby califdon » Wed Jan 16, 2008 6:55 pm

Everah wrote:Yeah. Take a look at nickvd's first post, or califdon, and you will see that the Disable bbCode box is checked. The original post it is not checked. Not sure how they were affected, but it seems somehow that they are not even given the option of enabling bbcode.

@califdon or @nickvd, can you reply to this thread and see if the Disable BBCode box is available to you? Use the reply to say whether it is or not. I want to see, if it is not, if I go back into your post and uncheck those boxes, if you can then go back and use bbCode. Thanks.


Nope, in Options: it just says BBCode is OFF, and there are only 2 checkboxes:
Do not automatically parse URLs
Notify me when a reply is posted

I just completed a job for the Disabled Students program at College of San Mateo ... you don't suppose ... NAAAH!
Last edited by RobertGonzalez on Wed Jan 16, 2008 7:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Turned on BBCode parsing
User avatar
califdon
Jack of Zircons
 
Posts: 4484
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 9:30 pm
Location: California, USA

Re: Site moved... Again

Postby Benjamin » Wed Jan 16, 2008 6:57 pm

It's off for me in this forum. Must be a permissions glitch.
User avatar
Benjamin
Site Administrator
 
Posts: 6866
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 10:24 pm

Re: Site moved... Again

Postby califdon » Wed Jan 16, 2008 7:00 pm

If I post outside this topic, BBCode is enabled, just to be clear on this. But either using Quote or Post Reply, I get no BBCode and no checkbox to enable it. In this topic!
User avatar
califdon
Jack of Zircons
 
Posts: 4484
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 9:30 pm
Location: California, USA

Re: Site moved... Again

Postby califdon » Wed Jan 16, 2008 7:05 pm

OK, I spent a little more time on this -- astions is right, it's THIS FORUM (Site News) that's screwed. I don't even see a way to start a new topic in here.

Edit | Don, try editing this post and see if bbCode is on for you.

Nope. Same as before.



Now, that's interesting ... Your edit is formatted. Mine isn't! You must be paying a premium rate!


Hey, I've edited THIS POST 3 times, but your formatted edit says it has only been edited 1 time. Maybe that could be a clue...
Last edited by RobertGonzalez on Wed Jan 16, 2008 7:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Testing bbcode parsing being turned back on
User avatar
califdon
Jack of Zircons
 
Posts: 4484
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 9:30 pm
Location: California, USA

Re: Site moved... Again

Postby JayBird » Thu Jan 17, 2008 5:37 am

Can someone that was having trouble please try now...

Think i fixed it.
User avatar
JayBird
Admin
 
Posts: 4522
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2003 7:02 am
Location: York, UK

Re: Site moved... Again

Postby Zoxive » Thu Jan 17, 2008 9:10 am

Yup, works now.
User avatar
Zoxive
Forum Regular
 
Posts: 974
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 5:37 pm
Location: Bay City, Michigan

PreviousNext

Return to Site News

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest