PHP Developers Network

A community of PHP developers offering assistance, advice, discussion, and friendship.

It is currently Sat Oct 19, 2019 2:59 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Documentation Advice
PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2012 1:21 pm 
Forum Newbie

I'm still a relatively new developer, but I'm reaching the point in my work that I'm starting to understand the importance of documentation. I've started to create my own documentation application, but it feels like this is something that someone has probably already done far better than I could do. Without blabbering on too much, here's what I'm thinking...

I'm looking for a solution that is simple, and lightweight. I've seen things like http://www.phpdoc.org/ but I'm not sure this is what I want. Applications like this seem to take the "auto documentation" approach which is absolutely awesome! But that's not really what I want (plus I need to document more than just php). I really want to be able to describe my features, use cases, classes, methods, etc... in a more flexible way. I want to be detailed where it seems important, and broad where it doesn't. My goal is to create lightweight docs that will be primarily for myself, the few developers that I work with, and/or someone that might come behind me to work on a project.

The possible solutions I've considered so far...

I could just create pdfs. Lightweight and highly custom, but not very enjoyable to use. And just being real with myself, if it's not a pleasure to use, it will not get much attention. Also, it hurts me a little to think about creating a lot of static data. Who knows what else I would want to do with it, but I'd like it to be in a format that I could expand upon in the future.

I could create static html pages. Similar pros and cons to the pdfs, with the exception that reading the documentation might be more satisfying (design, navigation etc...).